Exposed in the Night

When I am standing out on the back dirt roads, surrounded by fields and the magic of the night I feel exposed. I hear the sounds in the dark, I feel the breeze on my skin and the Milky Way is rising in the distance. This is the ultimate test of my soul and mind. To stand naked with the night and no one beside me. Is it the unknown (or is it the knowing) that the light we are accustomed to is asleep leaving our minds and beings to wander internally?

The camera clicks and captures another moment of the astrological bodies that blanket the midnight velvet the way ocean waves saturate the sand as it comes to shore. I am standing there both in breathless possibilities and awestruck in the beauty that is unfolding before me. I am also on a precipice of not knowing what or whom may be standing there in the darkness with me.

My eyes search, my ears listen and my being feels. I allow myself to become lost in the darkness without fear for as long as I am able. I remind myself that there is nothing here that I would not be able to handle, for the darkness is merely day in the absence of light. Yet the light which eludes my visual periphery feels light years away.

I look down at the mini glowing screen attached to my camera that illuminates for a few precious moments as the image is captured, and the gear wants to share in its joy of the night. In that moment I am reminded of the majesticness that is the universe, this place where on this spinning sphere of dirt and water I am nothing but a spec in infinite possibilities.

Within mere seconds the screen goes dark again and I am standing in the night, naked. Knowing that it’s almost inevitable that the feelings of unmasked fear will spike again I allow myself to deeply breathe and look up. In that frame of viewing I can see the million points of light that stretch further than even my imagination can wrap around. It is humbling to know that the light I am viewing has been seen by soulful beings long before my existence was even thought of in the stars that transcend across the night.

As I return to my existence in the plane of which I am at the moment I remember where I am standing, and that the night has left me unharmed. Life wants to live. It has no desire to do anything else. There may very well be sounds that seem unrecognizable that fill you with an unshaken will to run and forget it, but don’t. If the desire to escape begins to consume you just remember, that nothing here wishes to harm you as long as you too have no desire to hurt it. This is the night, and it is a beautiful space to recapture your being. Remember, that you too come from the stars and that the stars burst from your core like a super nova highway.  If your internal voices that lay silent in the lightness of day start to speak in whispers, tune in and listen. They may very well have something important to say that will allow you to find answers that have eluded you in the search.

IMG_3923_edited-1

About vermontvortex

Nature - Soul - Magic - Passion - Elements. I attempt each day to remain connected to the space of which graciously harbors my energy, to be true to my being and honor that which has connected with my living. "I believe that we are here for each other, not against each other. Everything comes from an understanding that you are a gift in my life - whoever you are, whatever our differences." - John Denver . “Thousands of candles can be lit from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.” - Buddha
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

